top of page

2022 Stettler & District Music Festival Wrap-up and award recipients May 11, 2022 @ 12:45pm

After being cancelled in 2020 and having a significantly reduced festival in 2021 due to COVID, the Stettler & District Music Festival Committee is proud to say that we had a very successful 2022 festival season. We had 142 registrations, with 639 participants performing 161 pieces. The participants were from 7 communities within the Clearview School District.

During the seven days of the festival, we had participants delight us with their talents in Band, School Chorus, Vocal, Choral and Piano. These disciplines are either competitive or non-competitive, with adjudicators offering feedback emphasizing the learning. It is an excellent way for the performers and their teachers to gain different ideas for future performances.

We had our fabulous Grand Concert on April 28th, featuring our Highest Mark and Adjudicator Choice Scholarship winners along with adjudicator suggested highlights. The Award of Excellence is given to a person that goes above and beyond to help celebrate, teach and/or promote Fine Arts in our community. The 2022 Award of Excellence was awarded to Jamie Wahl of JD’s Academy of Dance Synergy. We receive/accept nominations from anyone who would like to see someone’s efforts recognized. We also recognized our Highest Mark and Adjudicator Choice Recipients along with those performers that were recommended to move on and compete at the Provincial Alberta Music Festival, which will happen virtually in early June.

We concluded the festival, on April 30th, with the recording of all provincial recommended performances.

2022 Results:

Highest Mark Award: Simone Fetaz (Piano), Gracenotes Honour Choir (Vocal), and Gracenotes (Musical Theatre).

Adjudicator’s Choice: SES Concert Band Grade 5 Band (Band), Isabella Gendre (Piano), Katie Wengryn (Vocal), SES Grade 6 Music Class (School Chorus) and Bianca Brugman (Musical Theatre)

Provincial Recommendations: Piano: Simone Fetaz, Eve Fetaz, Rowan Snodgrass, Mena Watson, Isabella Gendre, Raelynn Weber and Rueben Fetaz(both in Piano and Music Composition).

Vocal: Kaia Sylvester, Sawyer Sylvester, Rheese Andersen, Bianca Brugman, Simone Brugman, Reese LaFournie, Katie Wengryn and Emma Werbowesky

Contemporary Vocal: Leah Syson and Abigael Lizee

Choral: Gracenotes and Rhapsody Girls & Tiny Tenors, Rhapsody Girls & Tiny Tenors, and the Gracenotes Honour Choir.

Musical Theatre: Kaia Sylvester, Sawyer Sylvester, Rheese Andersen, Bianca Brugman, Simone Brugman, Reese LaFournie, Abigael Lizee, Katie Wengryn and Emma Werbowesky.

Contributed by Wendy Staal - Stettler & District Music Festival President