top of page

2021 County Council Candidates

County of Stettler Press Release September 20, 2021 12:32 pm Published at 2:15 pm

Nomination Day closes with two Councillors acclaimed, and elections in 5 Wards

At the close of Nomination Day, the County of Stettler will see elections in five wards. Councillors were acclaimed in two of the wards. Paul McKay in Donalda-Red Willow and Les Stulberg in Byemoor-Endiang were acclaimed as Councillors as they were the only candidates to put forth nomination papers in those wards.

The County Wards with County elections are listed below:

Ward 1: Byemoor-Endiang Les Stulberg*(acclaimed)

Ward 2: Big Valley Dave Grover*

Lance Neilson

Terry Schiffner

Dustin Wawzkiewicz

Ward 3: Botha-Gadsby Dianne Baird

Larry Clarke*

Ward 4: Erskine South-Warden Earl Marshall

James Nibourg*

Ward 5: Stettler Ernie Gendre*

Sarina Gosse

Wanda Niehaus

Jeremy Verhoeven

Ward 6: Erskine-Buffalo Lake Cheri Neitz*

Justin Stevens

Ward 7: Donalda-Red Willow Paul McKay (acclaimed)

*indicates incumbent candidate

Candidates submitted nomination papers at the County Office between Jan. 1, 2021, until 12:00 pm today. Candidates do have 24 hours to withdraw their nominations if they were not acclaimed, so these nominations are unofficial until noon, Tuesday, September 21, 2021.

Election Day is being held four weeks from today, on Monday, October 18, 2021, and polls will be open from 10:00 am – 8:00 pm in all wards as there is also a Referendum and Senate Election being held at each ward as well this year. A list of polling station locations will be available on our website at Voters can vote in the advance polls on Thursday, October 14 or Friday, October 15 from 10:00 am – 8:00 pm.

Voters can also request a Mail-in Ballot by calling or e-mailing the Returning Officer, Doreen Nixon and requesting a special ballot. Voters can then mail-in their ballot and still be counted. This is perfect for residents who are away on holidays, in the hospital or away working.

For more information contact:

Doreen Nixon

Returning Officer


bottom of page