Premier Jason Kenney has announced the membership of the Economic Recovery Council

Provincial Press Release March 20, 2020 @ 3:23 PM

The council is made up of policy and industry experts who will provide insight and expert advice on how to protect jobs during the economic crisis stemming from the COVID-19 pandemic and the recent collapse in energy prices. The council will also focus on strategies for long-term recovery from the crisis, including efforts to accelerate diversification of the Alberta economy.

Members of Economic Recovery Council announced.

Jason Kenney, Premier “This is the most significant and disruptive economic downturn in generations. It will get worse before it gets better. The Government of Alberta will do everything in its power to protect jobs and job creators. The council announced today, chaired by Dr. Jack Mintz, will provide advice and policy recommendations on how best to confront this unprecedented economic crisis, and recover from it in the long term. This will include strategies to accelerate economic diversification.”

Dr. Jack Mintz, chair, Economic Recovery Council “This is a challenging time for Alberta. I am pleased to chair this council of policy and industry experts who will provide advice to the Government of Alberta on the best ways to protect Albertans during this severe economic downturn. I appreciate the seriousness with which the government is approaching the challenges that are presented by this crisis.

The Premier’s Economic Recovery Council will consist of the following members:

Jack Mintz, Chair

Clive Beddoe – former Chair, President and CEO, WestJet

Robert Blakely – Canadian Operating Officer, Canada’s Building Trades Union

Brent Belzberg – founder and Senior Managing Partner, TorQuest Partners

Bob Dhillon – founder, President and CEO, Mainstreet Equity Corporation

Chris Fowler – President and CEO, Canadian Western Bank

Hon. Stephen Harper – Canada’s 22nd prime minister

Peter Kiss – Owner and President, Morgan Construction and Environmental

Zainul Mawji – President, Telus Home Solutions

Nancy Southern – Chair and CEO, ATCO Ltd.

Kevin Uebelein – CEO, AIMCo

Mac Van Wielingen – founder, ARC Financial

  • Facebook
  • Instagram stettler
  • Twitter
  • TV

Stettler News


Stettler News

Local Sports

Alberta News

Canada News

Global News


2020 Graduates


Clearview Public School District


Job Board



Public Notices


Workshop & Classes



Get Stettler news today for sports, events, entertainment, jobs, and obituaries, relevant to residents of Stettler, AB, Canada on

Your locally owned news source for Town of Stettler and County of Stettler, AB Canada

© 2020 Rairdan Services, Inc.  |  Stettler, AB  |  | Jewel Theatre | Photos not to be used without permission