top of page

2/11 Erskine IOOF hosts county community awards

Karens Armstrong accepts community award

On Thursday the 6th of February The Erskine Rec Board hosted one hundred and fifty people at the IOOF Hall in Erskine to recognize volunteers and outstanding citizens at the County of Stettler 43rd Annual Community Service Awards.

Lorraine Hankins, Manager of Recreation & Insurance for the County of Stettler said it is an event everyone enjoys every year. “Stettler is proud of this event and the residents that make it possible.”

Hankins went on to say “We keep the winners a secret so when they are announced it is fun for everyone. Some of the winners were sort of tricked to get to the event so we could honour them. This adds a lot of excitement and fun to the evening.” Hankins also reports that this year was the highest on record for youth awards with 5 of the 12 awards going to local youth.

Kent Nixon, from Renegade Station, and his son, Josh Nixon, performed at the event and Mark Higgins was the Master of Ceremonies.

Next year the event will be held in Byemoor. Date TBA.

Winners at the County of Stettler 43rd  Annual Community Services Awards:

Stettler Dodge Community Service Award -  Karen Armstrong

ATCO Arts, Culture and Heritage Award – Alfred Erichsen

Sullivan Lake West Ag Society  Community Service Award- Terry Gallant

Donalda and District Ag Society Community Service Award – Jennifer and Duncan Charles

Big Valley Ag Society Community Service Award – Sue and Bob Boswell

Big Valley Ag Society Youth Service Award- Aughtum Wilkie (pronounced Autumn)

Stettler and District Ag Society Community Service Award – Steve and Melissa Thiessen

Erskine Social Recreation Society Youth Service Award – Jaydon Haustein

The Linda Hall Society Community Service Award – Brian Johnston

Botha Community Centre Youth Service Award- Kaleigh Morris

Botha School Youth Service Award- Kallia Maki

Endmoor Youth Community Service Award- Chase Walker


bottom of page